Recipe #4: Gluten-Free Ain’t So Bad

Not everyone is fortunate enough to find a really good friend that you can have fun with, talk with, and get along with – at work. I, however, have been incredibly blessed by my coworker Lisa, who has also turned into a good friend in and outside of work. We both started at our company about a year ago (she started a month before me), and within a few weeks, we found it hard to survive work without each other; which has made the last month quite difficult as Lisa has been out of work for the last month on medical leave.

During the last year, I have developed quite an obsession with baking, and Lisa has gladly shared in my passion by sampling all my recipes the day after I make them. However, since recently being diagnosed with a gluten allergy, she has not been able to enjoy anything I bake. So, I took it upon myself a few months ago to make her some gluten-free brownies. I don’t know why I was expecting them to taste bad, since the only ingredient different from regular brownies was soy flour instead of regular flour, as well as the addition of cornstarch; but I was pleasantly surprised with how good these brownies turned out. So, in honor of Lisa’s return to work after a month-long absence, I again made her these gluten-free brownies. They were extra moist and delicious this time, as I added about 2/3 cup each of chocolate chips and peanut butter chips. I should also add that I used gluten-free flour rather than soy flour; you can find this in any grocery store, as most have a gluten-free food aisle.

Gluten-Free Brownies

(from astray recipes)

I highly recommend these for anyone looking for gluten-free desserts. Heck, even if you don’t have a gluten allergy, you may want to make these anyway – they really are quite scrumptious. For the recipe, go here.

One thought on “Recipe #4: Gluten-Free Ain’t So Bad

Leave a Reply

