Recipe #6: Clean Out the Cupboard Cake

About a week and a half ago, I became aware of the abundance of baking products in our house – this is largely because I buy extra ingredients that I am unaware we already have in the cupboards. We also have, from time to time, the random ingredient that was used for something else, but probably won’t be used again for sometime (ie: marshmallows).

So, I used a recipe I found in a Betty Crocker recipe keeper cookbook that my friend bought me for Christmas last year. I added a few of my own additions, in my quest to use up as many ingredients as possible, and it turned out pretty well. I definitely enjoyed the ability to be creative with this, but there are also some modifications I would make next time.

For example – instead of using chocolate fudge cake mix , I used devil’s food cake mix, since that’s what we had in the house. This made the cake a bit less moist, and even though the recipe is considered “bars” it was definitely more like a cake to me. Although it could have been eaten without a fork, it may have been a bit messy. Next time, I would probably try it with chocolate fudge instead.

I used almonds for my chopped nuts, and I didn’t use chocolate frosting. I did however use tons of marshmallows, which I then proceeded to top with leftover Nutella, peanut butter chips, and chocolate chips. With these additions, I think the chocolate icing might have been a bit much.

Here is the original recipe. To truly make it your own, scour your cupboards for all that extra stuff you’ve been looking to use for a long time, and get creative! I definitely enjoyed the combination of the Nutella and the peanut butter.

Rocky Road Bars
(Betty Crocker)

1    box Betty Crocker® SuperMoist® chocolate fudge (i used devil’s food mix)
1/2    cup butter or margarine, melted
1/3    cup water
1/4    cup packed brown sugar
2    eggs
1    cup chopped nuts (i used almonds)
3    cups miniature marshmallows (i used a bit more than 3 cups)
1/3    cup Betty Crocker® Rich & Creamy chocolate frosting (i omitted)

*I added: Nutella and peanut butter and chocolate chips to top the marshmallows.
1.    Heat oven to 350°F (325°F for dark or nonstick pan). Grease or lightly spray 13×9-inch pan.
2.    In large bowl, stir together half of the dry cake mix, the melted butter, water, brown sugar and eggs until smooth. Stir in remaining cake mix and the nuts. Spread in pan. Bake 20 minutes (25 minutes for dark or nonstick pan); sprinkle with marshmallows.
3.    Bake 10 to 15 minutes longer (14 to 18 minutes for dark or nonstick pan) or until marshmallows are puffed and golden. In microwavable bowl, microwave frosting uncovered on High 15 seconds. Drizzle over bars. Cool completely, about 1 hour. For easier cutting, use plastic knife dipped in hot water. For bars, cut into 6 rows by 4 rows. Store covered.

Before adding the rest of the toppings:

One thought on “Recipe #6: Clean Out the Cupboard Cake

Leave a Reply

