Recipe #7 and #8: It’s Pumpkin Season!

I love pumpkin. Love, love, love, LOVE pumpkin. It’s one of my favorites things about fall, and this year, I decided to experiment with as many pumpkin recipes as possible. I’ve only done three so far, but here are two that I made in the last two weeks.

The first is a pumpkin brownie – at the request of my boyfriend, I decided to find a good recipe for these, and found one for pumpkin cheesecake brownies. I made these with gluten free flour so my friend Lisa could enjoy them (and she did), but I personally didn’t think they tasted so great. So, I decided to find another recipe, and came across the one below. I thought they tasted much better, and everyone else who tried them seemed to enjoy them as well.

Pumpkin Brownie Bars
(from Cooks.com)

22 1/2 oz. pkg. Pillsbury family size deluxe fudge brownie mix
1/2 c. very hot water
1/2 c. oil
2 eggs
FILLING:
2/3 c. evaporated milk
3/4 c. sugar
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. ginger
1/8 tsp. cloves
16 oz. can pumpkin
2 eggs, slightly beaten
Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease bottom only of 13 x 9 inch pan. In large bowl, combine brownie mix, water, oil, and eggs. Beat 50 strokes with spoon. In medium bowl, combine all filling ingredients; mix well. Fold 1 cup filling mixture into brownie base. Pour into prepared pan. Carefully pour remaining filling over batter in pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 40 to 50 minutes or until center is firm to the touch. Cool completely. Cut into bars; store, covered, in refrigerator. Makes 36 bars.

This next recipe is by far, one of my all-time favorites, especially among fall recipes. What’s better than pumpkin bread? Pumpkin bread with chocolate chips. And this bread totally proves that – it’s so fabulously delicious. The key is to not underbake or overbake the bread (as with any bread); I did pretty well, but when I went to cut the middle, I realized it was a little underdone. So, just be careful about that. But I highly recommend you make this bread sometime – it’s definitely worth it!

Pumpkin-Chocolate Chip Loaf Cake
(from Epicurious)

1 3/4 cups unbleached all purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 1/4 cups sugar
3 large eggs
1 cup canned pure pumpkin
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/3 cup whole milk
3/4 cup miniature semisweet chocolate chips (i used regular size)
3/4 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350°F. Butter and flour 9x5x2 1/2-inch metal loaf pan. Sift first 5 ingredients into medium bowl. Using electric mixer, beat butter in large bowl until smooth. Gradually beat in sugar, then beat in eggs 1 at a time. Beat in pumpkin and vanilla. Beat dry ingredients into pumpkin mixture alternately with milk. Stir in chocolate chips and nuts. Transfer batter to prepared pan.Bake loaf cake until tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 55 minutes. Cool in pan on rack 15 minutes. Turn cake out onto rack; cool completely. (Can be made 2 days ahead. Wrap in plastic; store at room temperature.)

For my next pumpkin recipe, I am on a quest to make these, but for the life of me, I can’t manage to find Pumpkin Spice Hershey Kisses anywhere! I’ve heard they are at Target, but I couldn’t find them – has anyone seen these anywhere?

One thought on “Recipe #7 and #8: It’s Pumpkin Season!

Leave a Reply

