Recipe #11: Chocolate Lover Cookies

This cookie is amazing. I’m not even kidding. It’s FABULOUS.
Ok, maybe I’m a bit biased, since I (somewhat) created it myself. But, if you like chocolate (lots and lots of it), you will love this cookie. I guarantee it.

I created this recipe using a “Design Your Own Chocolate Cookies” recipe from The Cookie Bible.
I had a variety of chocolate chips at my disposal, so I wanted to put them to good use.

The basic recipe is:

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup Hershey’s cocoa
1 teaspoon baking soda
Any choc chip of your choice

1. Heat oven to 375 degrees.
2. Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar, vanilla and salt in large bowl until creamy. Add eggs; beat well.
3. Stir together flour, cocoa and baking soda; gradually add to butter mixture, beating until well blended. Drop by rounded teaspoons onto ungreased cookie sheet.
4. Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until sent. Cool slightly; remove from cookie sheet to wire rack. Cool completely.

Here is my modified recipe, which I like to call ‘Amazingly Fabulous Chocolatey Chocolate Cookies’

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter-flavored Crisco stick
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 cup packed light brown sugar
2 teaspoons almond extract
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa
1 teaspoon baking soda
about half a bag each of: semi-sweet choc chips, Ghiradelli bittersweet choc chips, and Ghiradelli white choc chips

img_0470

I modified this recipe for a few reasons. First, I used a Crisco stick instead of another stick of butter because it adds a lightness and a nice crispiness to the cookie. Second, I used more brown sugar than granulated sugar, because it makes the cookies more chewy and more soft. Third, I used almond extract, because almond and chocolate go well together – and, admittedly, I had no vanilla extract on hand. Finally, I used Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa instead of regular because, well, dark chocolate is just realllly good – and also, better for you.

img_0474

This cookie is somewhat rich – but if you’re a true chocolate lover, I think you will find this cookie pretty close to perfection.

img_0476

4 thoughts on “Recipe #11: Chocolate Lover Cookies

  1. Whoa, these look awesome! I’m not a big chocolate lover, so when I eat something chocolaty, I like it to really pack a punch. I just made chocolate biscotti and everyone raved about them, but I totally didn’t like them, and I just realized why — not chocolaty enough!

    • thanks! these are really great – im eating one at my desk right now,actually:) they are a little crunchy, but, i think that’s b/c i baked them a bit too long. they arent burnt, just harder than i prefer. i suppose to keep them softer, you could just bake them a little less.

      i LOVE biscotti and i just bookmarked your recipe yesterday when i found your blog! it’s always good to add some choc chips to your recipe – ive made choc biscotti w/ dark choc chips and choc biscotti w/ mint choc chips – both very good. i also like to make choc chip hazelnut biscotti. yum:)

      thanks for your comments – let me know how these cookies turn out if you try them!

  2. Hello kerrilyn,

    DROOL!! seriously, i love looking at baking blogs especially the cookies’ photos! i love cookies, choc chip to be exact. and i am always looking for the type of choc chip that melts inside when hot. i saw your post (the post after this one) on the basic nestle tollhouse choc chip recipe that you used, and saw the melting choc chip inside. so giradelli it is huh? hmmm, i wonder if I can find them in Malaysia. I tried many before, van houten, vochelle…yet to try hershey’s as they are so expensive here in Malaysia. maybe i’ll try finding giradelli.

    and these dark ones (this post)…YUM YUM!!! too chocolatey people say? heh, I’m a true choc addict, I’m sure it’s gonna be awesome. I’m gonna try this recipe of yours soon and see how it is! But again, no crisco butter here too :(…

Leave a Reply

